Book Genres (Staff): Historical Fiction

Summary:
A reimagining of the classic fairy tale, presented from the
stepmother's perspective,traces her escape from a life of harsh servitude before single motherhood
forces her to take a job as a
nursemaid to an otherworldly infant, who eventually becomes her stepdaughter and a princess celebrated for her beauty.

Recommended By: in
February 2018

Under a Pole Star By Stef Penney

Summary:
A whaler's daughter, Flora Mackie
first crossed the Arctic Circle at the age of 12 and fell in love with the
unforgiving terrain. In 1889, despite those who believe that a woman has no place in this harsh world, she heads back to Greenland at the head of a British expedition.

Recommended By: in
September 2017

The Weight of Ink By Rachel Kadish

Summary:
An ailing historian with a fondness for Jewish history reviews 17th century documents discovered during a renovation in Amsterdam, and learns the story of an emigrant who worked as a scribe for a blind rabbi just before the onslaught of the plague. 

Recommended By: in
July 2017

The Orphan’s Tale By Pam Jenoff

Summary:
Sixteen-year-old Noa, forced to give up her baby fathered by a Nazi soldier, snatches a Jewish infant bound for a concentration camp from a boxcar and takes refuge with a traveling circus, where Astrid, a Jewish aerialist, becomes her mentor.

Recommended By: in
August 2017

We Were the Lucky Ones By Georgia Hunter

Summary:
A novel based on the true story of a Jewish-Polish family recounts how the Kurcs are scattered throughout the world by the horrors of World War II and fight hardships to survive, reach safety, and find each other.

Recommended By: in
January 2016

The Sweetness By Sande Boritz Berger

Summary:
Vilna 1941. A young girl asks her grandmother why she is carrying nothing but a jug of lemons and water when they are forced by the Germans to evacuate their Vilna ghetto. "Something to remind me of the sweetness," the wise woman tells her, setting the theme for what they must remember to survive.
Set during World War II, the novel is the parallel tale of two Jewish girls, cousins, living on separate continents, whose strikingly different lives promise to converge. Brooklyn-born Mira Kane is the talented eighteen-year-old daughter of a well-to-do manufacturer of women's knitwear in New York. Her cousin, eight-year-old Rosha Kaninsky, is the lone survivor of a family abroad exterminated by the invading Nazis. Yet, unbeknownst to her American relatives, the orphaned Rosha did not perish.

Recommended By: , in
December 2016

Last Days of Night By Graham Moore

Summary:
A riveting historical thriller about the “War of the Currents,” the famous race for glory and riches between Thomas Edison and George Westinghouse. Featuring a cast of characters ranging from Nikola Tesla to Alexander Graham Bell to Stanford White, this is a wonder-filled work of historical fiction that is both legal caper and fact-based account of one of the most transformative moments in American history.

From Graham Moore, the Academy Award–winning screenwriter of The Imitation Game and New York Times bestselling author of The Sherlockian.

Recommended By: in
September 2016

Cavendon Hall By Barbara Taylor Bradford

Summary:
A captivating epic saga of courage and honor, following the aristocratic Inghams and the loyal Swann family who have served them for centuries at Cavendon, a stately home in the north of England. The Cavendon Chronicles covers 32 years in lives of these two families.

Book one begins in 1913 and the third one ends in 1945. During those years we see the ups and downs in the lives of all of the characters and how they are affected by two world wars. We witness how the women of Cavendon, “Women Warriors”, cope, lead and overcome many trials and tribulations to triumph in the end. This trilogy is a story of intrigue, romance, sorrow and joy.

Recommended By: in
September 2016

Rare Objects By Kathleen Tessaro

Summary:
Befriending an enigmatic woman while recovering from an alcohol-related breakdown in 1930s Boston, first-generation Irish immigrant Maeve Fanning lands a job at an antiques shop, only to discover that her friend is a wealthy socialite who pulls her into a world of privilege and deceit.
 
A new work of historical fiction from Kathleen Tessaro, the New York Times bestselling author of The Perfume Collector.

Recommended By: in
August 2016

Salt to the Sea By Ruta Sepetys

Summary:
In 1945, World War II is drawing to a close in East Prussia, and thousands of refugees are on a desperate trek toward freedom, almost all of them with something to hide. Among them are Joana, Emilia, and Florian, whose paths converge en route to the ship that promises salvation, the Wilhelm Gustloff. Forced by circumstance to unite, the three find their strength, courage, and trust in each other tested with each step closer toward safety.

Just when it seems freedom is within their grasp, tragedy strikes. Not country, nor culture, nor status matter as all ten thousand people aboard must fight for the same thing: survival. old in alternating points of view. Perfect for fans of Anthony Doerr's Pulitzer Prize winner All the Light We Cannot See, Erik Larson's #1 NYTimes  bestseller Dead Wake.

Recommended By: in
August 2016

At the Edge of Summer By Jessica Brockmole

Summary:
The acclaimed author of Letters from Skye returns with an extraordinary story of a friendship born of proximity but boundless in the face of separation and war.

Luc Crépet is accustomed to his mother bringing wounded creatures to their idyllic château in the French countryside. Yet his maman’s newest project is the most surprising: Claire Ross, a fifteen-year-old Scottish girl who inspires Luc in ways he never thought possible. Then, just as suddenly as Claire arrives, she is gone, whisked away by her grandfather to the farthest reaches of the globe. When she returns years later, World War I is raging. Will Luc and Claire, both altered by the conflict and the many years apart, be able to find each other and recapture what was lost?

Recommended By: in
July 2016

When the Emperor Was Divine By Julie Otsuka

Summary:
A story told from five different points of view: a mother receiving the evacuation order, her daughter on the train ride to the camp, the son in the desert internment camp, the family's return home, and the point of view of the father. This is a chronicle of the experiences of Japanese Americans caught up in the nightmare of the World War II internment camps.

Recommended By: in
July 2016

Crooked Heart By Lissa Evans

Summary:
A precocious orphan evacuee and a debt-ridden widow con artist forge an unlikely alliance and take advantage of
unscrupulous money-making opportunities in the bombed suburbs of World War II England.

Paper Moon meets the Blitz in this original black comedy, set in World War II England.

Recommended By: in
September 2016

The North Water By Ian McGuire

Summary:
Henry Drax is a harpooner on the Volunteer, a Yorkshire whaler bound for the hunting waters of the Arctic Circle. Also aboard for the first time is Patrick Sumner, an ex-army surgeon with no better option than to sail as the ship's medic. Sumner thought he'd find temporary respite on the Volunteer, but now, trapped in the wooden belly of the ship with Drax, he encounters pure evil and is forced to act. As the true purposes of the expedition become clearer, the confrontation between the two men plays out amid the freezing darkness of an arctic winter.

Think The Revenant on the water.

Recommended By: in
November 2016

A Gentleman in Moscow By Amor Towles

Summary:
Count Alexander Rostov. In 1922, he is deemed an unrepentant aristocrat by a Bolshevik tribunal, the count is sentenced to house arrest in the Metropol, a grand hotel across the street from the Kremlin. Rostov, an indomitable man of erudition and wit, has never worked a day in his life, and must now live in an attic room while some of the most tumultuous decades in Russian history are unfolding outside the hotel’s doors. Unexpectedly, his reduced circumstances provide him a doorway into a much larger world of emotional discovery.

By the best-selling author of Rules of Civility.

Recommended By: in
July 2016

Last Painting of Sara De Vos By Dominic Smith

Summary:
Half a century after reluctantly painting a forgery of the only surviving landscape by a 17th-century female Dutch master, Sara curates an exhibit of women Dutch painters and risks exposure when both the original and her forgery arrive.

By the award-winning author of
“Bright and Distant Shores”.

Recommended By: in
July 2016

Translation of Love By Lynne Kutsukake

Summary:
Deported back to Japan after losing her mother in a Canadian internment camp, thirteen year-old Aya Shimamura struggles with her father's demoralizing work schedule and school bullies before helping a classmate write a letter to Douglas MacArthur and venturing into Tokyo's dangerous red-light district.

A critically acclaimed first novel!

Recommended By: in
December 2016

The German Girl By Armando Lucas Correa

Summary:
Stripped of her family's privileges by the Nazi party in 1939 Berlin, Hannah Rosenthal forges a pact that she will remain true to her best friend, Leo, before embarking on a refugee ship bound for Havana, where rumors of a deadly plot force her to make an impossible choice.
Debut novel!

Recommended By: in
January 2017

Tea Planter's Wife By Dinah Jefferies

Summary:
Set in atmospheric 1920s Ceylon,
we follow the experiences of a
young Englishwoman who confronts local hostilities before the discovery of her husband's secrets forces her to make a devastating choice.

Recommended By: in
February 2017

Monsoon Summer By Julia Gregson

Summary:
A moving love story spanning the globe from England to India, about the forbidden love between a young Indian doctor and an English midwife.

A British nurse finds difficulty being accepted into her husband's large, Indian family after she returns home with him to help run a maternity hospital in 1947.

By the author of East of the Sun.

Recommended By: in