Book Genres (Staff): Mystery

January 2017

The English Boys By Julia Thomas

Summary:
When a much-loved woman is murdered minutes before her wedding, Daniel, the longtime friend of the groom-to-be, joins forces with the victim's sister to find the killer and clear the groom's name of suspicion.

Genres: ,
Recommended By: in
March 2017

A Murder in Time By Julie McElwain

Summary:
While attempting to flee an assassin, Kendra Donovan, a rising star at the FBI, inadvertently travels back to 1815 and becomes involved in discovering the identity of a vicious serial killer, without the benefit of her 21st century tools.

Genres: ,
Recommended By: in
October 2016

Missing, Presumed By Susan Steiner

Summary:
For readers of Kate Atkinson and Tana French comes a page-turning literary mystery that brings to life the complex and wholly relatable Manon Bradshaw, a strong-willed detective assigned to a high-risk missing persons case.

Assigned to the high-profile case of a missing graduate student, brilliant detective and lonelyheart Manon Bradshaw uncovers the abductee's erratic behavior, a close friend's secrets and the role of a sex offender while struggling to maintain a professional distance.

Recommended By: , in
September 2016

Aunty Lee's Chilled Revenge By Ovidia Yu

Summary:
 Rosie “Aunty” Lee feisty widow, amateur sleuth and proprietor of Singapore’s best-loved home cooking restaurant is back in another delectable, witty mystery set in Singapore.

When an injured ankle forces her to turn the cafe's operations over to her business partner, Aunty Lee must still find out what happened to a British expatriate who turns up dead in her hotel room and has a connection to Aunty Lee's business partner.

Genres:
Recommended By: in
January 2016

The Lake House By Kate Morton

Summary:
A suspected kidnapping, a once-proud manor house, and a disgraced police officer all figure in Morton’s latest multigenerational Cornish saga.

Living on her family’s idyllic lakeside estate in Cornwall, England, Alice is a bright, inquisitive, innocent, and precociously talented sixteen-year-old who loves to write stories. But the mysteries she pens are no match for the one her family is about to endure…

A lush, atmospheric tale of intertwined destinies, this latest novel is an enthralling, thoroughly satisfying read.

Recommended By: in
February 2017

I Remember You By Yrsa Sigurdardóttir

Summary:
A tale based on a true story finds three friends targeted by a malevolent presence while trying to renovate an old house in the Icelandic Westfjords, while a local doctor uncovers an elderly suicide victim's obsessions.

Genres: ,
Recommended By: in
February 2017

The Mangle Street Murders By M.R.C. Kasasian

Summary:
After her father dies, March has to move to London to live with her guardian, Sidney Grice, the country’s most famous private detective. It is 1882 and London is at its murkiest yet most vibrant, wealthiest yet most poverty-stricken. No sooner does March arrive than a case presents itself: a young woman has been brutally murdered, and her husband is the only suspect. The victim’s mother is convinced of her son-in-law’s innocence, and March is so touched by her pleas she offers to cover Sidney’s fee herself.

The investigations lead the pair to the darkest alleys of the East End: every twist leads Sidney Grice to think his client is guilty; but March is convinced that he is innocent. Around them London reeks with the stench of poverty and gossip, the case threatens to boil over into civil unrest and Sidney Grice finds his reputation is not the only thing in mortal danger.

Genres: ,
Recommended By: in
March 2017

Under the Midnight Sun By Keigo Higashino

Summary:
In Osaka in 1973, the body of a murdered man is found in an abandoned building. Investigating the crime, Detective SasagakI is unable to find the killer.
Over the next 20 years, through the lens of a succession of characters, Higashino tells the story of two teens, Ryo and Yukiho, whose lives are most affected by the crime, and the obsessed detective, Sasagaki, who continues to investigate the murder, looking for the elusive truth.

Recommended By: in
March 2017

Garden of Lamentations By Deborah Crombie

Summary:
The body of a young woman is found in one of Notting Hill’s private gardens and the lead detective, DI Kerry Boatman, turns to Gemma James for help.

While Gemma James investigates the murder of a young nanny who appears to be one of a series of victims, Duncan Kincaid uncovers disturbing information about seemingly unrelated cases that may be putting his friends and family into mortal danger.

By the New York Times best-selling author of To Dwell in Darkness.

Genres: ,
Recommended By: in
March 2017

A Most Novel Revenge By Ashley Weaver

Summary:
Summoned by her cousin to the English countryside, Amory Ames, accompanied by husband, Milo, discovers an eccentric cast of guests at a friend's country house, where a salacious novelist draws them into the investigation of a
years-old murder.


By the Edgar Award-finalist author of Murder at the Brightwell.

Genres: ,
Recommended By: in
May 2017

Himself By Jess Kidd

Summary:
When he discovers that his mother may not have given him up, but that foul play may have led to her disappearance, lovable car thief and Dublin charmer Mahony returns to the rural Irish Village where he was born to find out what really happened 26 years ago and, setting the town on its ear, enlists the help of a brash anarchist and retired theater actress to solve this mystery.

Genres: ,
Recommended By: in
June 2017

Sycamore By Bryn Chancellor

Summary:
When human remains are linked to the unsolved disappearance of a teenage girl eighteen years earlier, the residents of the victim's hometown rekindle stories, rumors, and recollections while examining the complicated history that led to the tragedy.

Debut novel!

Genres: ,
Recommended By: in
June 2017

Dry By Jane Haper

Summary:
A small town hides big secrets in  this atmospheric, page-turning debut mystery by Jane Harper.

Receiving a sinister anonymous note after his best friend's suspicious death, federal agent Aaron Falk is forced to confront the fallout of a twenty-year-old false alibi against a backdrop of the worst drought Melbourne has seen in a century. 

Recommended By: , in
October 2017

Emma in the Night By Wendy Walker

Summary:
One night three years ago, the Tanner sisters disappeared: fifteen-year-old Cass and seventeen-year-old Emma. Three years later, Cass returns, without her sister Emma. Her story is one of kidnapping and betrayal, of a mysterious island where the two were held. But to forensic psychiatrist Dr. Abby Winter, something doesn't add up. Looking deep within this dysfunctional family Dr. Winter uncovers a life where boundaries were violated and a narcissistic parent held sway. And where one sister's return might just be the beginning of the crime.

Genres: ,
Recommended By: in

Summary:
Based on some of literature’s horror and science fiction classics, this is the story of a remarkable group of women who come together to solve the mystery of a series of gruesome murders— and the bigger mystery of their own origins.

Genres: ,
Recommended By: in
August 2017

Murder at an Irish Wedding By Carlene O'Connor

Summary:
The O’Sullivan clan of County Cork, Ireland, are thrilled to be catering the matrimonial affairs of a celebrity couple—until a cunning killer turns an Irish wedding into an Irish wake.

Genres: ,
Recommended By: in
September 2017

Celine By Peter Heller

Summary:
A missing-persons tracker who specializes in reuniting families to make amends for a loss in her own past, Celine searches for a presumed-dead photographer in Yellowstone, only to be targeted by a shadowy figure who wants to keep the case unsolved.

Recommended By: in
September 2017

Unsub By Meg Gardiner

Summary:
A psychological thriller inspired by the unsolved case of the Zodiac Killer follows the efforts of a young detective who resolves to apprehend the serial murderer who destroyed her family and terrorized a city 20 years earlier.

Recommended By: in
October 2017

Penhale Wood By Julia Thomas

Summary:
A year after her 3-year-old daughter was found dead, Iris enlists the help of Officer Rob McIntyre in tracking down the elusive killer.

Genres: ,
Recommended By: in
November 2017

The Final Girls By Riley Sager

Summary:
Emerging a lone survivor of a serial killer's massacre a decade earlier,
a former college student struggles to ignore traumatic memories and move on as one of a group of other survivors who look to her for answers when one of them is found dead in a suspicious suicide.  

Recommended By: in