Recommended By (Staff): Ellen

December 2018

Vox By Christina Dalcher

Summary:
Marginalized in a near-future America where the government limits women to no more than 100 spoken words daily before outlawing women's education and
employment altogether, a former doctor resolves to be heard for the sake of her daughter.

Genres:
Recommended By: , in ,
November 2018

The Subway Girls By Susie Orman Schnall

Summary:
To save her job, outspoken ad exec Olivia, pitted against her arch rival, is desperate to win the NYC Subway account, which leads her to the historic Miss Subways campaign, which could save her job and her future.

Genres:
Recommended By: in
August 2018

Limelight By Amy Poeppel

Summary:
Optimistically moving her family from suburban Dallas to Manhattan, Allison Brinkley finds New York unexpectedly bewildering, until an encounter with a famous pop star who has been cast in a Broadway musical provides her with a surprising opportunity.

Genres:
Recommended By: in
August 2018

Woman Last Seen in Her Thirties: By Camille Pagán

Summary:
At fifty-three, Maggie Harris has a good marriage and two mostly happy children. Perpetually anxious, she’s also accumulated a list of semi-reasonable fears: falling air conditioners, the IRS, identity theft, skydiving, and airbag recalls. But never once did Maggie worry that her husband of nearly thirty years would leave her.

On the day Adam walks out the door, everything that makes Maggie secure goes with him. Only then does she realize that while she’s been busy caring for everyone else, she’s become invisible to the world—and to herself.

Maggie cautiously begins to rebuild her life with a trip to Rome, a new career, and even a rebound romance. But when a fresh crisis strikes and an uncertain future looms, she must decide: How much will she risk to remain the woman she’s just become?

Genres:
Recommended By: in
June 2018

Where the Wild Cherries Grow By Laura Madeleine

Summary:
A lone surviving member of a family decimated by World War I runs away to a seaside village in the south of France, where she begins to heal in the wake of vibrant natural cuisines and a passionate love affair that is threatened by secrets from the past.

Genres: ,
Recommended By: in
September 2017

The Weight of Ink By Rachel Kadish

Summary:
An ailing historian with a fondness for Jewish history reviews 17th century documents discovered during a renovation in Amsterdam, and learns the story of an emigrant who worked as a scribe for a blind rabbi just before the onslaught of the plague. 

Recommended By: in
August 2017

We Were the Lucky Ones By Georgia Hunter

Summary:
A novel based on the true story of a Jewish-Polish family recounts how the Kurcs are scattered throughout the world by the horrors of World War II and fight hardships to survive, reach safety, and find each other.

Recommended By: in
July 2017

Miss You By Kate Eberlen

Summary:
A chance meeting fails to bring the 18-year-old Tess and Gus the love with each other that they deserve, and they wind through lives that bring surprises and divert them from their intended paths, but will they get a second chance at love together?
A wryly romantic debut novel with echoes of One Day, by David Nicholls that asks, what if you just walked by the love of your life, but didn’t even know it?

Genres: ,
Recommended By: in
July 2017

The Promise Girls By Marie Bostwick

Summary:
When their ambitious mother seeks to recapture past fame by appearing in a new documentary, three former child prodigies reluctantly work with a filmmaker, who uncovers deep family secrets and a revelation that will challenge their beliefs.

Genres:
Recommended By: in
June 2017

On Turpentine Lane By Elinor Lipman

Summary:
Living a mostly peaceful existence in her small suburban hometown where she struggles to ignore the dysfunctional people in her life, Faith discovers mysterious artifacts that make her question a promising new relationship and everything she believes.

By the best-selling author of The View From Penthouse B.

Recommended By: in
February 2017

Three Amazing Things About You By Jill Mansell

Summary:
Hallie doesn't have long to live. And to make things even more complicated, she's in love with a guy who's seriously out of bounds. She's never going to let him know, of course; she's just going to enjoy every remaining moment of her crush. She's also determined to spend her last months helping those who write into her Dear Rose column with problems of their own. Her doctors can't fix her, but maybe she can fix a few other people's dilemmas before it's too late.

Genres: ,
Recommended By: in
February 2017

The Confectioner's Tale: A Novel of Paris By Laura Madeleine

Summary:
A chance encounter with the daughter of a famed patisserie's owner introduces a young man to a sensuous life of melted chocolate, sweet cream, and light pastry that leads to a forbidden love affair, which is rediscovered by the man's granddaughter eighty years later.

Recommended By: in
January 2016

The Sweetness By Sande Boritz Berger

Summary:
Vilna 1941. A young girl asks her grandmother why she is carrying nothing but a jug of lemons and water when they are forced by the Germans to evacuate their Vilna ghetto. "Something to remind me of the sweetness," the wise woman tells her, setting the theme for what they must remember to survive.
Set during World War II, the novel is the parallel tale of two Jewish girls, cousins, living on separate continents, whose strikingly different lives promise to converge. Brooklyn-born Mira Kane is the talented eighteen-year-old daughter of a well-to-do manufacturer of women's knitwear in New York. Her cousin, eight-year-old Rosha Kaninsky, is the lone survivor of a family abroad exterminated by the invading Nazis. Yet, unbeknownst to her American relatives, the orphaned Rosha did not perish.

Recommended By: , in
January 2016

All of Us and Everything By Bridget Asher

Summary:
Three grown sisters, each running from respective problems, are reunited by a startling revelation about their father that sends them on an adventure to reconnect with a lost past.

For fans of Eleanor Brown’s The Weird Sisters and Liane Moriarty’s The Husband’s Secret.

By the author of My Husband's Sweethearts.

Genres:
Recommended By: in
July 2016

I’ll See You in Paris By Michelle Gable

Summary:
Three women, born generations apart.

One mysterious book that threads their lives together. A journey of love, discovery, and truth…

Based on the real life of Gladys Spencer-Churchill, the Duchess of Marlborough. Nearly a century after Gladys’s heyday, a young woman’s quest to understand the legendary Duchess takes her from a charming hamlet in the English countryside, to a dilapidated manse kept behind barbed wire, and ultimately, to Paris, where answers will be found at last. In the end, she not only solves the riddle of the Duchess but also uncovers the missing pieces in her own life.

Genres:
Recommended By: in
July 2016

The Blue Bath By Mary Waters-Sayer

Summary:
Kat Lind, an American expatriate returning to London following the death of her mother, attends an opening at a prestigious Mayfair art gallery and is astonished to find her own face on the walls. She discovers that the artist, Daniel Blake, has continued to paint her throughout the twenty years since their affair. In her grief and with her husband and young son away, Kat is seduced by her erstwhile reflection and is drawn back into the sins and solace of her past.

When the portraits catch the attention of the public, threatening to reveal not only her identity, but all that lies beyond the edges of the canvases, Kat comes face to face with the true price of their beauty and with all that she now stands to lose.

Genres:
Recommended By: in
July 2016

The Railwayman's Wife By Ashley Hay

Summary:
Anikka Lachlan has all she ever wanted until a random act transforms her. Now she looks for answers in the pages of her favorite books and tries to learn the most difficult lesson of all: how to go on living. A local poet, Roy McKinnon, experiences a different form of incomprehension. How could he write amidst the chaos of war but lose his voice and vision upon returning home? Meanwhile, Frank Draper, seeks to reclaim his pre-war life but struggles to cope with his failure to help those who needed him most—the survivors of the Nazi concentration camps. Then one day, on the mantle of her sitting room, Ani finds a poem. She doesn’t know how it got there, and its author is unattributed. But she has her suspicions. A love triangle involving the poet, the poem, and Ani begins to form between an emerging reality and the things she wishes were true.

Genres:
Recommended By: in
August 2016

What She Knew By Gilly Macmillan

Summary:
In this debut Macmillan explores a mother's search for her missing son, weaving a taut psychological thriller as gripping and skillful as The Girl on the Train and The Guilty One."

A recently divorced mom finds herself in the eye of an increasingly suspicious public after her 8-year-old son suddenly vanishes at a park on a Sunday afternoon and must follow the clues to find him herself.

Recommended By: in
October 2016

Missing, Presumed By Susan Steiner

Summary:
For readers of Kate Atkinson and Tana French comes a page-turning literary mystery that brings to life the complex and wholly relatable Manon Bradshaw, a strong-willed detective assigned to a high-risk missing persons case.

Assigned to the high-profile case of a missing graduate student, brilliant detective and lonelyheart Manon Bradshaw uncovers the abductee's erratic behavior, a close friend's secrets and the role of a sex offender while struggling to maintain a professional distance.

Recommended By: , in

Summary:
A fiendishly fun and charming novel echoing the quirky works of director Pedro Almodóvar.

Atticus Craftsman never travels without a supply of Earl Grey, an electric kettle, and a teacup—so he makes sure he has packed all three after his father, distinguished publisher of Craftsman & Co., sends him to Madrid to shut down a failing literary magazine, Librarte. But when nobody has heard from him in three months, his father knows something must be very wrong.

Genres:
Recommended By: in